Obamacare canceled my insurance!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GeneralVeers

Socially Distanced
Removed
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just got my notice from BCBS this week: My insurance will be cancelled due to Obamacare.

I'm an IC with a hospital group getting no benefits. I have been paying out-of-pocket for the last 6 months for my own private health insurance plan. Far from a "junk" plan, as many Obamacare advocates have been referring to the canceled policies, mine was the most expensive PPO I could get. At $420 monthly for two people it had an open network and a $1000 deductible. Is this a junk policy?

The letter from BCBS simply states that due to the changes under the ACA, my insurance will no longer be available after July 2014. They give me no options, and no recourse. They simply state that a plan "might" be available on the Nevada exchange. Does anyone want to bet I can get a similar plan on the Exchange with the same deductible for $400/month? More likely my premium will go up, and my deductible will go up to to $5000 or more.

Luckily for me, President Obama has illegally and unconstitutionally enacted a hardship waiver for 2014 for those people who's plans had been canceled under the law.

I have always tried to be responsible, and pay my own way. Starting in July, count me in as one of the newly un-insured, as I have have no intention of getting a rip-off government exchange plan.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 2 users
Does anyone want to bet I can get a similar plan on the Exchange with the same deductible for $400/month? More likely my premium will go up, and my deductible will go up to to $5000 or more.

There's a reason the biggest proponents of Obamacare were the insurance companies... #redflag

Wow, 517 views and only one comment. I can't believe that no one else on this forum has any opinion about this.