OMS1 and OMS2 average grades or GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

corpsman33

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I just finished my first semester of medical school and our final grades were posted today (I did pretty well, although I could have done a little better if I studied a bit more for the last tests, c'est la vie).

Anyways, I was wondering what the average grades or GPAs are for students during OMS1 and OMS2 respectively. I fully understand that grading scales vary drastically by school (from simple pass/fail to ABCDF and everything in between), but I was hoping somebody might know an estimation regarding averages and top quartiles of schools, etc.

I also understand that pre-clinical grades matter extremely little when applying for residency, but I am still curious. Anyways, I searched for this answer and kept getting pre-med average GPAs/grades and could not find averages while in med school.

Anyways, thanks in advance and I hope everybody is enjoying Christmas break!

Members don't see this ad.

In my experience, when it comes to the first two years of med school residency programs care more about your class rank not individuals grades, unless you fail something. Stay in the top 50% for the pre-clinical years and you will be golden on that front for most specialties.

It is low on the list of things programs look at, board scores, board scores, board scores, also clinic grades in third year are the most important facets of your cv for most specialties.

Last edited:
you know i was curious about this as well. we have one more test but i was wondering about the same. I know what my averages are and I am curious to where that compares as well as how much ECs do. Like is a top 15% of class with little ECS the same as top 50% with lots of ECs? just wanting an idea of if I am epically mediocre or I am not as bad as i think.

Members don't see this ad :)