Paid Research Opportunity vs Unpaid But Likely To Be Published Opportunity

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

u1118933

Reaction score
Hello! I am currently picking a new research position and would love some feedback on which to pick. I am a full time student with not a lot of income and was hoping to land a research gig with some financial compensation (even if it was very little). I have the opportunity of joining a project where I would be considered a "volunteer" research assistant which would be unpaid but give me a phenomenal role in the project. They are also on track to be published within the year and will put my name in the journal. They're also extremely flexible with my busy schedule and overall seem very supportive of my goals. Will it look negative if I am labeled a "volunteer research assistant" as opposed to a normal RA on my application? My other opportunity pays well but I am not sure about publication or when I would be able to start working with them. Any thoughts on whether I should join the first one or try to find another?

Members don't see this ad.

For the purposes of you app I don't think it matters if you were "paid" or not. Plenty of people get paid during certain semesters or summer and do unpaid/volunteer during other times, and no one's wasting space describing this....all that matters is what you do/did and your role. If you'd be a lab rat at the paid position, maybe turn it down or could you possibly do part time split? Sounds like the first job is pretty flexibile. Just my thoughts!

Paid employment shows that what you were doing was valuble enough to be worthy of payment. That makes a positive impression, even if publication is not in the cards. Plus, earning money is a good thing, particularly when the cost of applying is so high. Unless you are independently wealthy, I'd go with the paid gig.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)