Passed Step 3! Feel free to message me if you need advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dragonmaster89

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Everyone,

Just wanted to share my experiences with Step 3. First of all, this test was by far the toughest of the three Step exams. I was told by a friend to study a lot of basic sciences and biostats cause the test format had changed, and I was thankful for his advice and I followed it carefully. I'll divide my post into 4 sections.

1. Information and stats about me:
Graduated from medical school in Texas, currently an intern
Step 1 score- 232
Step 2 score- 235 and passed CK on first try
Step 3 score- 229!!! So happy!!

2. What I did to study for it: rather than waiting till the end of intern year to take this test, I studied three months total for it and took it a week before intern year began. I used MTB 3, read all of it and took extensive notes on it, then found online biostats questions and did over 400 questions, then re-read parts of First Aid Step 1 (focused on the drug mechanisms and bugs section of it), and did all of QBank, both multiple choice and CCS cases.

3. Test day 1: this is said to be the tougher day for most students taking Step 3, but I felt pretty well prepared for it. The test is about 30-40% biostats and close to 20% basic sciences for day 1, so all my hard work on biostats and reviewing basic sciences really paid off, and I scored very high on both basic sciences and biostats.

Test day 2: this is said to be the easier day for most interns, but because I took it before intern year, it was probably tougher for me.

I was guessing a ton on the multiple choice questions, be careful here: a ton of questions focus on the prognosis and risk factors of certain diseases, so study hard for these 2 things. Honestly, there were a ton of questions that I was stuck between 2 answers