PD not renewing IM contract, what do I do to get an FP spot for the 2006 via the matc

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SuFiBB

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hello
i am a categorical IM intern and my pd is not renewing my contract for the pgy2 year. I can not find a FP spot for the 2005 through the scramble because they are all filled so I am going to enter the match via ERAS for the 2006 entering class. my question is is that my IM PD not renewing my contract with severely bring down my application so what can I do for this upcoming 2005 year to improve my chances of matching into FP (ie research in FP etc.)
thanks a lot, I really want to practice clinically medicine and my program essentially firing me is a big blow, I really want FP more than anything so any advice out their on how I can get a spot via the match would be great. also how do I handlehe fact that my IM PD did not renew my contract as part of my application. How do I put it in my application (ie phrase it).

Members don't see this ad.

non-renewal is always a red flag on residency applications so you're just going to have to be bluntly honest about it and explain the circumstances surrounding your non-renewal to the best of your ability. You can bet that any program director that interviews you WILL contact your IM program director to find out additional details that may not have been mentioned.

are you sure all the unfilled positions are already filled? that's a little hard to imagine, even at this point in time -- there are always spots available somewhere, unless it's a geographic thing...