Pharmacist from Italy (soon abroad?)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

piccolochimico

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everybody,
I am an italian pharmacist, i have a degree in pharmaceutical chemistry and technology and i am looking for informations (and a new job).

After 12 years, i am still working in the same retail pharmacy (a community pharmacy) for 14 $/hour (GROSS!).
I am getting close to the 40, so i have decided to look for something better abroad, because italy is an old men country.
It takes time and money to get my license recognized by NAPLEX, so i am wondering if i could be hired as pharm tech in the first ime and to apply later for the licensure as pharmacist.
I have also the license for the United Kingdom, but i am definitely more attracted by your country

I have seen that the hourly salary for a newbie pharmacy technician is even better than mine, so i am really thinking about this opportunity.

It would be a first step to get in touch with your reality.

The hospital environment seems to be the most interesting and stimulating, with likely the best salary; may someone advice the best city/state in which to look for?

Every time i apply for a job, i define my qualification as bachelor, but i would like to figure out how good is the level of my education: my course lasted 5 years, 30 exams all related to the main subject (organic chemistry, pharmaceutical chemistry, analytical, biochemistry, physiology, toxicology, etc).

Any other advice will be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everybody,
I am an italian pharmacist, i have a degree in pharmaceutical chemistry and technology and i am looking for informations (and a new job).

After 12 years, i am still working in the same retail pharmacy (a community pharmacy) for 14 $/hour (GROSS!).
I am getting close to the 40, so i have decided to look for something better abroad, because italy is an old men country.