Pharmacy or Business?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JakeSill

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Incoming senior. I liked both fields. I work as a Tech so I know how the pharmacy career is. Haven't worked in the corporate world though so don't know how it is. Haven't shadowed a someone in Business yet as well. I find it weird to ask someone in business to shadow him/her if they work for a company. Thinking about doing accelerated 3 year pharmacy degree or 1 yr Business degree (Management or Finance). My in state pharmacy school is $75000 while the accelerated school i'm looking at is $146k (all without living expenses). Pharmacist salary is $120k while the students who graduate from the 1 yr Business program earned $62k on average. If I just put in two extra years in school, I could be making double of what the average person in business makes (avg meaning a salary of 60k), but then I will have more loan. I like Pharmacy degree though because I can make more money down compared to being an average person in business (avg meaning a salary of 60k). But then with some networking skills I might be able to get into high finance(e.g Investment banking) making bank.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm currently struggling with a similar dilemma. I am accepted to Pharmacy school set to start next month. The debt for my 3 year program is really high 150k, without living expenses, plus i have undergraduate debt. i currently work in corporate and its a lot of politics and favoritism that occurs, not sure if that happens in a pharmacy setting. i have limited experience in a pharmacy environment. If you are passionate, go for the Pharmacy. that debt load is something to think about though.