PhD in Health Psych vs. MD/DO

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Uzappa

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Long-time lurker, first time poster with the need for advice. I have scoured the forum and haven't found a similar story or answer so thank you in advance.

Background: I'm a current MSW graduate working towards licensure. I run a small coaching side business and do nutrition assessments, strength training, and mobility therapy for movement dysfunctions. My ultimate goal was to have my own integrated therapy practice where I could do some form of health coaching (with a "legitimate license"), as I have come to know the relationship between physical health and mental well-being. Though I have learned a large amount about change psychology and health disparities, I'm finding that the MSW lacks the hard science and anatomy that I enjoy. I'm from a family without any professional or graduate degrees so I really never thought I could hack a PhD program or med school - shadowing in both fields has encouraged me to go for it.

A friend asked, "why not go PT or freelance as a health coach?" Honestly, I want to BE an eventual authority in this field and set a course for a lifetime of work. I have a desire to become a expert in health and want to start with a solid fundamental education that opens doors to gain experience.

Question: Would a PhD in Health Psych or an MD/DO be a better route? Does either offer a better degree of flexibility to pursue varied health interests? I can see myself doing health research on mindfulness, stress and depression, and the biopsychosocial aspects of disease as much as being a physiatrist, an endocrinologist, or even an oncologist. I am unsure that one degree combines both outright, but I would honestly want to do research and application of evidenced based health practices to get people healthy. Study, implement, results.