PhD + Kids

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ballpointpun

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

I had a question for anyone currently in a PhD program for social/developmental psych. I'm in my late twenties, I completed an MA degree in 2010 in psychoanalysis and contemporary society (which would not transfer credits to American schools), and after having three children, I'm looking back to my original goal, which was to work towards a PhD. I'm originally from the UK, where you bust into a PhD with your research ideas already somewhat formulated and can be done in 3 years. I did my bachelors in the US, however, and have lived here long enough to recognise PhD's here are nothing like that.

I'm considering applying for matriculation in Fall 2016, at which point my husband would work and I would hopefully return to school. I wondered if anyone would be willing to shed light on their weekly schedule. I would most likely not participate in student teaching (that qualified you for stipend), and would not teach more than requisite for the degree. I'm a driven individual, and not a particularly bad student, but I have hesitation to jump into a PhD if it's likely to take 6 years, and take me away from my family for drastic amounts of time.

I would appreciate any insight on this question. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Here in the US we have to have our research ideas somewhat formulated at the outset as well. I had started on my masters project before day 1 and was expected to already have a tentative outline for dissertation.

As for a clinical PhD, the earliest I've ever seen someone do it from a reputable program is 4 years, and then you have a required 1 year internship. Most go one to at least 1 year fellowship after that. So, the PhD part will be 5 years most likely. You could have cut it down with a masters that transfers, but it seems that you can't transfer yours.