PhD programs for those already holding an MD/MBBS?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ddwl

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there,

I did my medical degree (MBBS) in Australia (I am not a US-citizen), and I am interested in pursuing a career in research or academic medicine in the United States.

Most of the programs I've looked at are MD/PhD programs, I am just wondering if it is difficult to get into a PhD research program if I already have my MBBS? Is it very competitive?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi there,

I did my medical degree (MBBS) in Australia (I am not a US-citizen), and I am interested in pursuing a career in research or academic medicine in the United States.

Most of the programs I've looked at are MD/PhD programs, I am just wondering if it is difficult to get into a PhD research program if I already have my MBBS? Is it very competitive?

Haha- No, not competitive at all. You can pretty much get your pick of institutions, provided you do well on entrance exams. The fact that you speak English will go a long way! Do you want to practice medicine as well? What kind of research do you want to do? If you want a clinical appointment you may have to take USMLE exams to be board certified in the US.

I have seen MDs become pure researchers, pure teachers, or any mix in between. It shouldn't be any different for the MBBS. While you might have problems practicing medicine in the US - I cannot comment on what you'd need to do to remedy that - you should be able to find any type of position you'd like.

Members don't see this ad :)
Oh yea - getting into a PhD is not hard. It is NOT HARD. Getting out with a degree, let alone a doctorate, is. But I believe you don't need a PhD to get into US academia. If you want the training of a PhD, then go for it.

Hi there,

Depends on which PhD program you want to attend.

Hi there,