PhD student applying to MD/PhD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pelirroja77

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a PhD student at a very good institution who has a 31 MCAT and 3.97 undergrad GPA from a Big Ten school. Do you guys think it is possible for a current PhD student already in their thesis lab to switch to MD/PhD or do you think I have to finish the PhD first then apply to MD? Also are there any funding or programs out there for PhDs that want MDs?

Members don't see this ad.

I would recommend meeting with the MSTP director at your current school and discuss your plans.

pelirroja77 said:
I am currently a PhD student at a very good institution who has a 31 MCAT and 3.97 undergrad GPA from a Big Ten school. Do you guys think it is possible for a current PhD student already in their thesis lab to switch to MD/PhD or do you think I have to finish the PhD first then apply to MD? Also are there any funding or programs out there for PhDs that want MDs?

I think a few schools expressly say that you cannot appy to MSTP if you are already enrolled in a PhD program. Likely you'll have to apply to an MD afterwards, but def meet with the deans at the med school near you.

Members don't see this ad :)
ClarinetGeek said:
I would recommend meeting with the MSTP director at your current school and discuss your plans.

Agreed, in rare instances it can be done, but don't bet the farm on it. I've only seen it happen twice, and one of those cases involved nepotism.

pelirroja77 said: