Plz help-- all advice appreciated ----------

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

1NYCDOC

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,
I took the step 1 exam 36 days ago and I unfortunately did not pass the exam, and received a score of 182. I am very disappointed in my result, because I did put a significant amount of study time and preparation for this exam. Below is what I used to study . I also included at the bottom what i feel i did wrong. PLEASE GIVE ME ANY POSITIVE CRITICISM, AND ADVICE ON HOW I SHOULD GO ABOUT TO STUDY FOR THE TEST AGAIN. My goal is to get 230 or higher. Also, I am a carribean student ,do I still have any chance in matching into gen surgery...
I SINCERELY THANK YOU ALL IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR SUPPORT .

I had started studying for this exam a 1 year ago by taking a Live Kaplan prep course in conjunction to working full time. However, starting January 15, 2013 I dedicated my full time to prepare for the Step 1, and I took the exam 3.5 months later on April 29, 2013. My study time consisted of 12-hour days, with 4 hours for break time (in the first month I only put in approximately 8 hours a day). Additionally, I took 1 day a week off to break and complete chores. My study schedule consisted of the following: The first 4 weeks I completed a review of the First Aid in conjunction with the Doctors in Training program. Then for the next 9 weeks I finished only 80 percent the USMLE World Qbank (averaging approximately 75 questions & explanations per day). On days which I had left over time I also listened to Goljan’s pathology audio. The last week before the exam I did a rapid review of the First Aid.