possible to get into 1 year mph program without advanced degree?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

question25

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new to this forum, so I apologize if this question has been asked already.

I've been looking into 1 year accelerated MPH programs and they all seem to favor people with advanced degrees or advanced degree students. How difficult/possible is it to get into a 1 year program without an advanced degree?

I have a BS in biology and have done public health related work since I graduated from undergrad (Spring 2013). By the time I matriculate to an MPH program, I would have two years of experience in my work. Am I eligible for these programs- or not really? I am also planning to submit an MCAT score with my application, I'm not sure if this will hurt me. I want to apply for an advanced degree in the future after the MPH.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Even accredited schools can be really idiosyncratic in how they admit to their MPH programs. For example, although I heard they are changing it in the future, Harvard's MPH is primarily for people who already hold an MD or JD, and their masters-level public health students who come in with a BA go to the SM program. Then they further break up the SM into credit hour tracks, because people who do that with some other advanced degree can take less.

My impression is that accredited 1-year MPH programs are not common, because there is so much required coursework and an internship/capstone project to pack in. This is why it's usually only possible to offer those programs to people who come in with some other advanced training. There are related programs out there, such as Notre Dame's 1-year MS in global health: http://globalhealth.nd.edu/ but from the research I did when I was applying, I think you'll find that these programs either require an advanced degree, or are not accredited by CEPH.