Post Interview Thank you notes

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gurki

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone.
I was wondering what the general consensus is on sending thank you notes after an interview. I know sending one is a definite yes - my main question is: does every interviewer get a thank you note or do you just send one? and if only one, who is it addressed to?

Thank you for your help

Members don't see this ad.

I'd send one to everybody. It can't hurt, and the only downside is that you have to write something a little different in each one (that, and postage). ;)

FWIW, when I was a resident and received a personal thank-you note from somebody I'd interviewed, it made a big positive impression...because most people don't do it.

And when we were all sitting around at match time going through applicants' files, a big folder full of thank-you notes definitely scored points.

Reactions: 1 users
Thank you, I really appreciate your input!

Members don't see this ad :)
In today's video age, I think thank you notes are especially important when your interviewers are of the "older" generation before email became the norm. It is a lost art and definitely is important to stand out. Be sure they are individualized and addressed specifically to each person who interviewed you.

In today's video age, I think thank you notes are especially important when your interviewers are of the "older" generation before email became the norm. It is a lost art and definitely is important to stand out. Be sure they are individualized and addressed specifically to each person who interviewed you.
Also send one to the program coordinator (or whoever arranged the details of the interview).