pre-med after undergrad?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jankodejenko

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, this may be a stupid question but I still need help please.

What are the ways to pursue pre-med/med school after graduating from undergrad school. I graduated with a BA in anthropology at ucla with a 3.1 avg, no sciences.

I know there are things called informal post baccs, post bacc, 2nd degree bach (at participating universities), and masters. I'm hearing that you can apply to a school to "just take classes" even after you graduate from undergrad but I believe at schools at ucla after you have graduated you actually can't take any more classes there.

please help! I'm sitting at home doing nothing and i want to move forward!

Members don't see this ad.

I don't know about UCLA specifically, but you need to go to any school (preferably a 4 year university) and complete the necessary prerequisites. This can be done in a formal post- baccalaureate program, or you can just take the classes at your own pace wherever you choose to go. Post-bacs are simply formal programs that allow students who hold a baccalaureate degree in any discipline complete the prerequisites to med school in a specific sequence, usually in 12-18 months.

Reactions: 1 user
Hello, this may be a stupid question but I still need help please.

What are the ways to pursue pre-med/med school after graduating from undergrad school. I graduated with a BA in anthropology at ucla with a 3.1 avg, no sciences.

I know there are things called informal post baccs, post bacc, 2nd degree bach (at participating universities), and masters. I'm hearing that you can apply to a school to "just take classes" even after you graduate from undergrad but I believe at schools at ucla after you have graduated you actually can't take any more classes there.

please help! I'm sitting at home doing nothing and i want to move forward!