Pre-med Freshman advice University of Illinois

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BrightStar2543

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm posting tonight to ask for advice on how to pursue medical school. I am a freshman at the University of Illinois at Chicago. Currently, I am undeclared; however, I plan on studying Biology. I'm hoping to graduate in 3 years. I am doing so because I have received a good amount of AP credits that has taken care of all my gen eds after this semester. Additionally, graduating a year early would be financially better in my situation.As for some things that would be useful to know regarding my schedule:
Fall 2015:
Calc I
English 161
Gen Ed class
Chemistry 112 (gen chem 1 w/lab)
GPA: 4.0/4.0

Spring 2016:
Bios 100 (bio w/lab)
Chem 114 (gen chem 2 w/lab)
Physics 105 (physics 1 w/lab)
Gen Ed class

As for my ECs:
~50 hours shadowing
~50 hours volunteering
~100 hours EMT
~240 hours clinical experience at NMH
*No research
As for my spring semester, I know 15 credits of science is a heavy load, but I believe I'm handling it very well at the moment.I also spoke to my advisor in regards to my 3 year track. This includes taking two 200-level biology classes, orgo, and a 200 level psych class next semester. Although, I know this is rigorous, I am not frightened by the workload. In fact, I'm not scared by putting the work needed. However I'm absolutely frightened about making a strong application that involves good ECs. I got certified as an EMT a few months ago and tried to take advantage of the clinical experience that comes with the job. I also applied for a summer research position because I've heard research is huge. Exactly how huge is research? Also, I was wondering if there is anything else that can strengthen my application. And if so, how do I accomplish it? Is it really that bad to graduate in 3 years?Thanks for all the help everyone!