Pre-med going to into third year....need some encouragement

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hadokenny

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Well let me first introduce myself. I am a pre-med at berekeley. I am definitely not the smartest at berkeley but I do have a lot of ambition. I was thinking that if I try really hard in school, I will get the grades I need to get into med school. Well after 2 years of struggling at berkeley I have finally realized the reality. It seems like no matter how much i studied, I will always be at average or just slight above average at Berkeley. Right now my GPA is around a 3.2-3.3 and I am getting kind of discouraged. I am afraid that I will not be able to get into med school and become what I have always wanted to be. And being Asian doesnt really help my chances either...Well at least now I am done with all my prereqs and a lot of people tell me that upper division classes should be easier than lower div pre-med prereqs. I hope thats true and I am hoping that I will do well in the next 2 years.

Well my questions are...how likely do you guys think I can still pull off a 3.5 by the end of my senior year? What are some ways for science majors to pull up their GPAs after they graduate? I know about pos-bac programs but most of them seems to be geared towards non-science majors. As far as ECs go, I consider myself a pretty well rounded student. I am volunteering at a hospital and I plan to be come an EMT in summer. I also plan get a lab position from my bio professor next year. I am on the taekwondo team and I placed 2nd at nationals last year (hoping to capture gold this year and try out for the US national team). I also founded a motorsports club in my school (I love cars). Do you guys think my ECs are decent enough to make a competitive applicant? Lastly, what other advices can you guys give to a discouraged pre-med like me? :(

Members don't see this ad.