Pre-reqs at University B while enrolled at University A for PhD?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Curlywhirly1

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all - Posting about a unique situation for a fellow non-trad friend:

"I am currently a PhD student enrolled at University A. However, I wanted to simultaneously take all my pre-med pre-reqs at University B (a 4-year university down the road), due to their class time offerings and financial reasons.

Would Adcoms look down upon or question this?"

@Goro @LizzyM @Mr.Smile12 @wysdoc @Faha @gyngyn and any and all adcoms, your perspective is much appreciated - thank you in advance!

Edit: adding that my friend's intention is to apply to medical school only after the completion of their PhD.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Adcoms are not likely to care. However, your PhD mentor may care and may trash you in a LOR given that you are dividing your loyalties and not devoting 100% to the lab.

When do you anticipate completing the PhD? Why stay in that program? Will the skills/expertise you are developing stay fresh through four years of med school? Do you anticipate a career as a physician-scientist or is this a pivot away from research to patient care?

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Hi all - Posting about a unique situation for a fellow non-trad friend:

"I am currently a PhD student enrolled at University A. However, I wanted to simultaneously take all my pre-med pre-reqs at University B (a 4-year university down the road), due to their class time offerings and financial reasons.

Would Adcoms look down upon or question this?"

@Goro @LizzyM @Mr.Smile12 @wysdoc @Faha @gyngyn and any and all adcoms, your perspective is much appreciated - thank you in advance!

Edit: adding that my friend's intention is to apply to medical school only after the completion of their PhD.
Nope