This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MSMSM2018

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an American Medical Student who is applying into an advanced program requiring a general surgery preliminary program.

I was hoping to live in Chicago for my preliminary program, but only received one preliminary interview for Chicago, but many in cities along the West Coast.

Do you recommend I rank only my one Chicago preliminary surgery program and use SOAP to scramble into a general surgery prelim position if I don't get in? Looking for any information on the likelihood of scrambling into a surgery prelim year.

Members don't see this ad.

The number and variety of terrible ideas that Match applicants can come up with continues to amaze me.

Ask yourself this: would you rather match into a program that you know something about, but have to move for it, or suffer through the SOAP process to maybe land a spot in a program you know nothing about, and have to move?

Counting on open spots of any kind in SOAP, in a specific place is a recipe for disaster.

Reactions: 3 users
The number and variety of terrible ideas that Match applicants can come up with continues to amaze me.

Ask yourself this: would you rather match into a program that you know something about, but have to move for it, or suffer through the SOAP process to maybe land a spot in a program you know nothing about, and have to move?

Counting on open spots of any kind in SOAP, in a specific place is a recipe for disaster.

or lose your advanced spot because you were unable to SOAP into a prelim surg spot because you did not rank the prelim spots not he west coast...

Reactions: 4 users
or lose your advanced spot because you were unable to SOAP into a prelim surg spot because you did not rank the prelim spots not he west coast...

Surgery prelim is for sure the easiest to count on, but rolling the dice on a specific geographic location is foolish