About the ads

  1. Check out PREMED.me!
    Offers FREE service to help premeds manage their applications and MCAT study calendars and identify schools to target.

Premeds don't need to take a foreign language course, right?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical Allopathic [ MD ]' started by AestheticGod, May 29, 2012.

  1. SDN is a nonprofit organization. Services are made possible through the generous support of SDN members and sponsors. Thank you.
  1. AestheticGod

    AestheticGod

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    580
    Status:
    Pre-Medical
    SDN 2+ Year Member

    SDN Members don't see this ad. (About Ads)
    My degree (I think most degrees) requires 1 year of foreign language, but being a premed major, should i not care about this?
  2. TheLesPaul

    TheLesPaul

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    653
    Status:
    Resident [Any Field]
    SDN 5+ Year Member
    I think as a human being, you *should* care about this...
  3. AestheticGod

    AestheticGod

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    580
    Status:
    Pre-Medical
    SDN 2+ Year Member
    English-Fluent (almost? lol)
    Bengali-Fluent(speaking+ writing)
    Arabic-Fluent(Speaking+semi-writing)
    Gujarati-Fluent (Speaking+writing)
    Hindi-Semi-fluent(Speaking+writing)


    Isn't 5 enough for me? I understand spanish is highly popular in America..but for gods sakes, i don't think my brain can hold anymore without exploding or mixing them together to create my own language :scared: I just feel that if possible, i would rather concentrate on getting A+ on my sciences, then have another language course to worry about on the side.
    Last edited: May 29, 2012
  4. Wolverine Fan

    Wolverine Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    326
    Status:
    Medical Student
    SDN 2+ Year Member
    .
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2013
  5. MedPR

    MedPR

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    18,692
    Status:
    Pre-Podiatry
    Does your school not offer any of the languages you are already fluent in? Free A if nothing else.
  6. investing101

    investing101

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    126
    Status:
    Pre-Medical
    SDN 2+ Year Member
    No but if you're thinking about working lets say in the city when you graduate guess what would help your job prospects?
  7. MedPR

    MedPR

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    18,692
    Status:
    Pre-Podiatry
    Spanish is dime a dozen.. The languages the OP already knows will be much more appealing to employers.
  8. TheLesPaul

    TheLesPaul

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    653
    Status:
    Resident [Any Field]
    SDN 5+ Year Member
    impressive and point taken, it seemed like you were just trying to get out of taking a class. with that said, if it's a degree req, then how can you *not* care about it? i sort of run into that problem with whatever latest language i happen to be working on (hindi at the moment) taking on all the spots in my brain and ousting the french or spanish or what-have-you. however, languages you're truly fluent are in a separate compartment.

    also to the the guy above me ... not true. spanish is way more useful in america than any mix of indian languages.
  9. Stumpyman

    Stumpyman

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2,161
    Status:
    Pre-Medical
    SDN 2+ Year Member
    Usually a degree requirement, not for med schools though. I also didn't want to take spanish, and took Russian instead. Lots of fun.
  10. plumhill

    plumhill

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,034
    Location:
    "The Library"
    Status:
    Pre-Medical
    SDN 2+ Year Member
    Uhh if it's a degree requirement you have to care. If you don't fulfill your degree requirements, you won't get your bachelor's degree, and you need your bachelor's degree to get into med school. Based on your fluency, you may be able to test out of a language (I know a lot of colleges offer at least Hindi, and you're probably fluent enough to test out of at least part of the requirement)
  11. BurritoBandito

    BurritoBandito

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Status:
    Medical Student
    No OP you do not NEED to take a foreign language to get into med school. But knowing a second language will no doubt improve your application.
  12. MedPR

    MedPR

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    18,692
    Status:
    Pre-Podiatry
    Where did I say that Spanish was not useful? Tons of doctors will speak Spanish, very few will speak the languages the OP speaks. If you were a hospital administrator looking to hire a new doctor, would you prefer to add one to your existing stack of Spanish speakers or add one with a unique set of languages? I'd pick the latter.
  13. TheLesPaul

    TheLesPaul

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    653
    Status:
    Resident [Any Field]
    SDN 5+ Year Member
    You said "dime a dozen" implying relative lack of worth. In the US, you're 99.99999% much more likely to run into a Spanish-only patient than a Hindi-only patient. You're hiring doctors, not interpreters -- Spanish is a much more valuable skill, and I would add one to my stack of Spanish speakers.

    Think about it this way -- every time a physician uses an interpreter phone, it costs the hospital X amount of money. Would you rather hire someone who uses the phone once every 6 months for the random languages, or someone who uses the phone 5x daily for Spanish?
  14. Perrotfish

    Perrotfish Has an MD in Horribleness

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    6,140
    Status:
    Resident [Any Field]
    SDN 7+ Year Member
    :thumbdown:
    I think Spanish really is important. If you don't want to add it to your regular course work then learn it over a summer through an immersion program.
  15. lobo.solo

    lobo.solo SDN Gold Donor Gold Donor

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,969
    Status:
    Pre-Medical
    SDN 2+ Year Member
    If you don't want to do it, don't. Spanish will definitely help you in your clinical years.
  16. LUV29

    LUV29

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    116
    Status:
    Pre-Medical
    SDN 2+ Year Member
    Different institutions have different requirements.At my school you have to take 1 foreign language class if you are doing a pre-med concentration. Luckily for me my high school credits transferred, because I think it would have been a waste of time in college since I am already fluent in two other languages. Again it can be an easy A thus being a GPA booster. It might also look good in your application (Just guessing...lol)
  17. theseeker4

    theseeker4 MS 2

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    3,248
    Location:
    Suburban Detroit, MI
    Status:
    Medical Student
    SDN 2+ Year Member
    This. If your university wants it for your degree, it doesn't matter what med schools want. All med schools will want you to get your degree, so do what you need to get that degree even if the requirement is not something that the med schools require of you.
  18. dmf2682

    dmf2682

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1,307
    Status:
    Pre-Medical
    Rocket Scientist SDN 2+ Year Member
    Op should go work for CIA, with those languages!
  19. tenndoc

    tenndoc bringer of sarcasm

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    864
    Status:
    Medical Student
    SDN 2+ Year Member
    not required for most schools. some want you to have spanish. if its required for your degree, take it and do well. it doesn't look good if you tank other classes just to focus on science classes. hurts your cGPA and med schools like to see you do well in other non-science classes
  20. pkwraith

    pkwraith Avatar of Boris

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    681
    Location:
    OH
    Status:
    Medical Student
    SDN 2+ Year Member
    You just said it's your degree requirement. Who cares if you need it for medical school. You need it to graduate.
  21. neuro nephrons

    neuro nephrons

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    322
    Status:
    Pre-Medical
    SDN 2+ Year Member
    not necessarily. some caribbean schools do not require a degree at all!!
  22. OwlPower22

    OwlPower22 Owllpathic

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    the zoo
    Status:
    Pre-Medical
    You most likely don't need to take a Foreign Language course to get into med school, but most schools require these classes to graduate. Don't miss out on your chance to graduate! :eek:
  23. KnuxNole

    KnuxNole Sweets Addict

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,825
    Status:
    Resident [Any Field]
    SDN 7+ Year Member
    To be honest, I dunno how meaningful 1 year of a language can help be marketable, unless you study abroad or follow up intensely, or live abroad.

Share This Page


About the ads