prereq questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

blt317

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey everyone,

So I am applying for the fall of 2010 and have been a little confused with some of the optometry school's general biology requirements.

Most schools say something along the lines of general biology or zoology with appropriate labs (4 quarters or 2 semesters).

I graduated as a Biology major and have taken microbiology w/lab, molecular biology w/ lab, experimental biology w/ lab, human anatomy w/ lab, and physiology w/ lab. I know for some schools they require microbiology, anatomy, and physiology as its own separate prerequisite. My question is for schools like scco and berkeley: Do I need to take 1 full year's worth of general biology lab on top of the micro, anatomy, and physio requirement?? Or are my requirements so far good enough to apply?

And for Berkeley, I know they require 1 full year of calculus. If I placed out of a calculus class because of my AP test: Do have to re-take that lower division calculus even though I passed a calculus course higher in the series?

I'd love to hear everyone's feedback thank you so much.

sorry for such a long post

Members don't see this ad.

Yes, you HAVE to take general Biology. Some schools recommend Anatomy, Phys, etc. However, all schools REQUIRE general bio. I am also a biology major. Odd that General Bio is NOT a pre-req for your school.

As far as APs go. I know that Berkeley, SUNY, and ICO do accept it...as long as it is in your college transcript. SCCO does not accept APs. I am kinda in the same boat. I only took the AP for one semester of calc, so I would have only been taking Calc 2. However, since SCCO does not accept APs, I will be retaking calc 1 and taking calc 2 later.