Private Practice questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AZPsychDoc

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I read through a lot of the previous threads but didn't exactly find what I was looking for. I currently work as an independent contractor in a practice group with a 60 (me)/40 fee split-standard, right?

Well when I first interviewed with this place I was told that 2nd yr is "awesome" because "it goes to 80/20 which would make it impossible to leave". I was looking forward to this fee split change and did not have anything in writing (dumb, I know). So here I am close to a year and the contract says 70/30- still good but not as "promised". In order to get the 70/30 split I must bring in $54,000 in "sales" every 6 months or pay the company back 40% of the difference. We are located in an area where most people utilize their insurance and some even complain about a $40 copay. The building is older and the set up is definitely not fancy enough to attract private pay clients who want anonymity or like a waterfall in the waiting area (ha but also serious).

I am trying to decide if it is worth it for me to remain at this place ("rent" is $2700 a month) or if I would be better of renting space elsewhere and doing my own thing. For the fee split the practice provides: quickdoc EMR, phone, receptionist, an office, and insurance billing. All the clients I have now I had referred to me or got on my own...being a part of this company does not get me clients so that should not be considered.
I have some private pay clients but mostly all insurance. The lowest reimbursement rate is $100.

Questions:
1- How much do clinicians avg on overhead in just renting a space from an office building/other provider? EMR? File folder storage?
2- How much do billing agencies charge (10-15%?)
3- Am I missing something here or does it seem like I would make more branching out on my own?