projected 2.9 gpa after undrgrad.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nikok

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
hello, i'm currently a sophomore at a private college in nyc. my first three years of college were horrendous. Due to family problems, i was constantly dropping out mid semester for three straight years, i was not mature enough to handle school given the circumstances, nor was i mentally fit enough to be able to handle the stress's brought from home.

I am back in school full time and plan to, like always, become a doctor. but my past three years are full for WU's, two F's, a couple B's, a couple C's, and one A, but mostly WU's. this semester has been going great, so far I'm pulling A's in four courses, but i am struggling with calculus because of my lack in readyness for this course (last pre-calc class was 2 years ago). If all go as planned and i DO receive A's in every course from now until i graduate in spring of 2016. My grades will be accumulated to a 2.92 GPA.

I calculated all WU's as attempted credits with the assumption of them counted as F's. Here's the question, what should i do after i graduate? i know that MD schools will not accept me at all, looking at my past three years, i wish i would have just dropped out rather than picking up classes and dropping, but w.e. it happened and time to move on! it's to early to tell about DO either because i do not had a MCAT score yet. What i did not do is take into account that DO school allow class retakes, so that 2.9 is without retakes, just one overall average.

Masters degree? Post-bac? what should i do? medicine has been my dream for a long time, i have shadowed already, volunteered EMS, and picking up summer research at my school, i know it's something i want, but my grades tell a different story... any help will be greatly appreciated, thank you.

Members don't see this ad.