Pros and Cons of Post Bacc

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DeePhil

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all. I am a freshman planning to enter my second semester this week. I have always been interested in medicine and definitely want to be a doctor, but I am also so excited about all that a liberal arts environment has to offer. I am not really a fan of the science departments or pre-med environment at my school and I was wondering if it is a bad idea to go into college already planning to do a post bacc? I really would like to major in Economics and minor in Health and Society and do a thesis on healthcare economics in developing countries, and this just won't be possible next to all the pre-med requirements. What are the pros and cons of doing a post-bacc? Could I still be accepted into an MD/PhD in Economics/Policy if I do a post-bacc?

Members don't see this ad.

I don't see anything wrong with it if you have the time and money, but I've never heard of an MD/PhD in econ/policy. People do MD/MBA's for that.

So medical schools won't look down upon me if I pursue this path? I want to pursue ECs relevant to medicine in college but take the pre-reqs later on

Members don't see this ad :)
As the prior poster noted, the biggest cons are time and $. The pros are youd probably have a Better college GPA and could focus on the prereqs with fewer other classes to distract you. Med schools are fine with post bacs -- not every college student decides they want to be a Doctor by age 18. And probably shouldnt.

Should I take any of the pre-reqs at school or should I leave them all for my post-bacc year? Should I volunteer at hospitals over the summer or would that be "suspicious" to med schools since I supposedly don't know I want to be pre-med yet?