Prospective Student, non-traditional background

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LucyLucille

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I plan to apply to the local school's DDS program Fall 2014 semester and I have a few questions about how I can improve my application. I have not taken the DAT, but my undergrad GPA is 3.87 and my science GPA is 3.81 for the prerequisite science courses. My chemistry GPA is 4.0 so far, which I am really proud of. However, I still need to take the Physics sequence and Organic Chemistry II.

I intend to complete the prerequisites during the 2012-2013 school year at a local university, not the one where I graduated from. I also plan to begin shadowing during this time, and I will take the DAT next summer. My letters of recommendation will have to come from the professors who I take Physics/ O. Chem with, since my other science courses were completed some time ago (6-7 years).

I feel that after all of this is completed, I will meet the minimum requirements for the program. One big issue for this particular school is that the school's catalog explicitly says "correspondence courses will not be considered in calculating QPA or total semester hours." My final two years of undergraduate work were completed through a distance program with a well-respected state university. I have a BS in Natural Resources. It was an excellent program, and many of the courses had proctored exams to prevent dishonesty. I am concerned that the Dentistry school will not consider my GPA from any of these courses since they were offered from a distance, and that even my degree may be questioned. That said, I have taken more than 90 credits (but less than a full degree) with a 3.7+ GPA through courses in-person, so I will still be eligible to apply, just not too stellar if they disregard the last two years of my education.