Psych-cations and a Med Student's Slight Identity Crisis

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

throwaway20425

Reaction score
TLDR: The culture of psychiatry rotations at my school has made me scared of what psych residency might look like for an uncompetitive psych applicant who is maybe too idealistic.

Greetings all,
I’m a DO student finishing up my third year. Before med school, I had several years of experience in dual diagnosis treatment, as well as with SMI in my immediate family; I loved this work and I came to med school to become a psychiatrist. However, after completing two psych rotations, I feel disheartened and am questioning my future. I’d appreciate some perspective on whether this stems from my own naivety or if it's a result of the particular experiences I've encountered (or perhaps both), as well as what this might mean for residency ahead. I probably also need to just vent a bit.

I know psych rotations are often referred to as “psych-cation”. However, I thought I'd be able to opt in, to engage and learn more on these rotations given my excitement about this work. Instead, I've learned that, in the case of my school's rotations, there is not additional work to opt in to. Most of the psychiatry preceptors for my school work "full time" at multiple facilities, earning staggering salaries while providing what I consider to be substandard care. I'm talking about no intake evals on new inpatient SMI admits, just copying forward an H&P and calling it a day, sub-1-minute follow-ups (I truly have timed it), or just skipping follow-up entirely but writing a note anyway. I feel upset that I'm complicit in the poor care they're providing. I'm learning very little on the job. I'm not getting support or mentorship through some of the challenging experiences I've had.