Psych fellowship for foreign MD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TiffG

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
hello. I couldn't find any threads regarding this so im not sure if it has already been answered or discussed. but any help will be greatly appreciated.

My friend is currently doing his residency training in Psych outside of the US and is planning on doing his fellowship here. so we were both wondering if he can train here without being board certified? and what are the usual requirements they need so he can train here? im currently studying for the steps so i have no idea yet regarding this.

thanks in advance for the help! :)

Members don't see this ad.

Most likely not. Certain programs could make exceptions but they'd have to heavliy restructure the schedule for this person.

All fellowships, unless I'm wrong, are required to have the fellow do some clinical duties to be ACGME certified. The fellow would've had to have US requirements, and that would include doing residency to be able to do their clinical duties. Now there are exceptions. A fellowship may not be ACGME certified, and a program may buck the clinical requirement though I find this highly unlikely.

The bottom line is the program usually makes at least some of their money from the fellow doing clinical duties so I don't see why a program would do the tedioius and painful process of restructing themselves to not be ACGME certified to allow a fellow to train while not being able to generate $$.

I have some some exceptions here or there but they are extremely rare.

Members don't see this ad :)