Psychiatry moonlighting average hourly wage

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

F0nzie

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a PGY-III psych resident moonlighting in my community and I am sorta shopping around town for the best deal to compensate for my sleepless nights.

Does being out of residency raise your hourly rate?
Any difference between being BE/BC affecting your moonlighting hourly rate?
Years of experience?

Seems with training, certification, and experience that one would be able to negotiate a higher hourly rate once residency has been completed.

FYI I am currently working 13 hour shifts overnight (7:30pm to 9am) in a psych ER and earning approximately $74 an hour. According to the bureau of labor and statistics (BLS) this number seems consistent with the average hourly rate for practicing psychiatrists. However, I keep hearing of moonlighting opportunities where people are earning $130+ per hour, which seems to be more on par with Neurosurgery (according to the BLS). (maybe that's because they're not covering your health insurance?)

I know the hourly wage fluctuates depending on the city and state in which you practice, but I am just curious to know what the hourly rates have you folks seen or negotiated?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I am currently a PGY-III psych resident moonlighting in my community and I am sorta shopping around town for the best deal to compensate for my sleepless nights.

Years of experience?

Seems with training, certification, and experience that one would be able to negotiate a higher hourly rate once residency has been completed.