PsyD or masters-level degree?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

slice79

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I have been working in public health for the past 10 years, doing international HIV research. I already have an MPH, but recently have been wishing that I had more direct skills to do one-on-one clinical work with people. To that end, I applied to the PsyD program at the Wright Institute and was accepted. I am now wondering if it will be worth it to undergo a 5-6 year program when my end goal is not to be a full-time clinician. I still want to do public health practice and research, but would like to supplement my work with part-time counseling work, probably in a communty mental health setting. If that is my goal, is it worth it to get a PsyD, or will an MFT or LCSW be sufficient? I know that the clinical training is obviously way more in-depth in a PsyD program, but if I don't intend on only doing clinical work, is that necessary? Any advice or thoughts would be much appreciated!

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

If your main goal is to conduct therapy and nothing else, i.e testing, like it sounds like, I would tell you the msw/lcsw route should be the way to go.

Reactions: 1 user
What ikibah said.

Also, while the Wright Institute doesn't have the worst internship match statistics out there, they are pretty bad on that score - and also they're completely unfunded, so you'd end up with 4-figure monthly payments at the end of the experience, for the next (what is it?) 25 years after you graduate. Not worth it on any level. Check out this thread:

http://forums.studentdoctor.net/threads/wright-institute.876561/