PT's role in burn victim rehabilitation and wound care

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SMuller06

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a first year PT student, and I am just looking at my options following graduation. I am very interested in working in a burn unit or acute care. I was wondering if any of y'all had any insight on the role that PTs play in the rehabiliation of burn victims. Also, do physical therapists concern themselves with wound care within inpatient settings, or is this type of care done primarily by nurses/doctors?

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

PTs role with burn victims are usually limited to burn care units in the hospital. I haven't really seen PTs working with burn care out side of this. In the inpatient units, the MDs/PAs/and nurses usually deal with most of the wound care (PTs can occasionally be involved, especially with bed sores, etc). In PT school, we were taught wound care and a few in my class did clinicals in this setting. However, throughout my clinicals, I never had to deal with wounds except for redressing wounds. You may also encounter wound care when working with amputees (stump wrapping) and other vascular injuries.

Hi all,

I'm a first year PT student, and I am just looking at my options following graduation. I am very interested in working in a burn unit or acute care. I was wondering if any of y'all had any insight on the role that PTs play in the rehabiliation of burn victims. Also, do physical therapists concern themselves with wound care within inpatient settings, or is this type of care done primarily by nurses/doctors?

Thanks.