Question about ASTRO abstracts

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

proton_cannon

7+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Yeah that's awesome. Mind elucidating the work that got accepted? I'd love to know what it takes to accomplish that.

Members don't see this ad :)
I am a med student that has done rad onc research for some time now and was fortuntate to have multiple abstracts accepted to ASTRO. Does it look weird to bring 3-4 posters to present? I was at ASTRO last year and can't recall a single person who had two or more posters. I will probably be applying this year and I am sure a lot of the attendings at ASTRO will be the same as the ones I will hopefully interview with later in the year--I don't want to do anything to put anyone off or think I am an overzealous gunner (which I'm not--I initially submitted so many since I didn't know how competitive it is to get in and thought it would look better on the CV if they didn't get published before I apply). Thanks in advance.

Congratulations!
Several folks had three posters, but I am not sure if anyone had four. It certainly looks impressive, and not weird. Why would it look bad?

The only problem with having multiple posters is that you can't stand next to them all in the poster session. They often spread them throughout the exhibit hall, and you just have to pick one to stand at. That's a shame because that's a great networking opportunity.

The way I submit abstracts nowadays is I just submit one strong project or two reasonable projects to ASTRO and save the other posters for future conferences. As long as the data isn't published first, that's the best way to keep things flowing.