Questions for M3/M4 Students

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

I have been aware of the change of USMLE Step 1 to P/F. Moreover, my medical school is lower/mid tier MD, not true P/F, does rank, and also selects AOA. I am interested in pursuing a competitive residency (hopefully in either an integrated surgical sub-specialty or interventional radiology). I have a couple of questions for you folks:

1) How are you making your application "stand out" to program directors for residencies? How can I get secure a solid MSPE for my ERAS?
2) What additional activities did you accomplish during your pre-clinical years?
3) I have read many other SDN posts regarding "networking". How do you network with and contact other research/clinical faculty?
4) How long (on average) did you prepare for Step 2 CK?
5) I have an additional master's in healthcare administration/systems, with a data analytics certification. How will this impact my future apps?

Thank you for your time and input!

Members don't see this ad.

AOA and research as well as LORs are pretty much the only other things that matter. Coming from a low tier, research especially specialty specific research can be very hard to come by. Faculty tend to not really care about publishing. Then again, it depends on how low tier you’re talking. Schools like “Wayne state” (which personally many consider to be mid tier) has plenty of research opportunities whereas others like Rosalind and Drexel have fewer given that they have no home programs or hospitals

Reactions: 1 user