Questions to Ask Yourself Before Applying to a Caribbean School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Bluejay87

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Now that medical school and the Match are over, I've been taking some time to reflect on my own experiences as well as those of my classmates. Going to one of the "Big 4" Caribbean schools paid off for me - I graduated and got into a nice residency program close to home. Many of my friends have similar success stories. But many others either failed out or have been unable to match.

With all of this in mind, I came up with a list of questions that anyone who is considering a Caribbean medical school should ask themselves before applying.

1. Have you seriously and thoroughly tried to gain admission to a US medical school?
- Applied to an adequate number of both MD and DO schools
- Completed a master’s degree or post-bacc program, or took other steps to address weaknesses in your application
- Applied in at least two different years

2. Do you have any red flags that will ultimately prevent you from obtaining a residency?
- Any criminal record aside from speeding/parking tickets
- Serious disciplinary problems
- Just because a school will accept you doesn’t mean that a residency program will hire you

3. Have you really asked yourself why you want to go into medicine?
- If it’s a tossup between medicine and being a librarian, go get that degree in library science

4. Will you be disappointed if you can’t go into a competitive specialty?
- Some Caribbean grads match into competitive programs and specialties, but you must understand that these are people who do extremely well in medical school - you will, statistically, probably be average and competitive specialties will not be an option for you as an IMG.