Re-Taking Prerequisites for medical school at various Universities

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrFabulasity

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am new to this board but have been lurking for a while. I graduated from college back in 2011 with a fairly low gpa :( . I am looking to retake all of my Pre-Med classes, raise my GPA and hopefully apply to DO school :xf::xf::D. It is extremely hard for me to take the necessary courses that I need at one university (the classes that are being offered during times I am scheduled to work). It would be much easier for me to retake the courses at a local community college but I don't want to hinder my application. Would it look bad for me to take the necessary Pre-Med courses at two different universities?

Thanks in Advance

Members don't see this ad.

Shouldn't be much of a problem. I retook both semesters of Organic at a CC while I worked, as well as the second semester of Physics online at a separate CC because of the same scheduling issues. Happy MS-1 at an Osteopathic school now. :)

Just make sure you ace them!

NeuroSpeed - Were those the only classes that you needed to retake? I need to retake mostly all of my premed requirements. I never took Orgo II, or Physics II - Should I take those two courses at a local University? I'm afraid that it will cause a red flag having so many transcripts from various colleges.

Members don't see this ad :)
How many different transcripts are you talking about?

The ADCOM told me that retakes at a CC weren't an issue, but that it might be if they were the original attempts. However since you are a non-trad you may get some leeway but I wouldn't count on it. That particular ADCOM moved on to pursue photography or something, so I don't know how any other current ADCOMs feel.