Really late to ask for a LOR?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dragonfly411

Megalagrion jugarum
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a third-year medical student, and I am planning on meeting in a few days with an attending that I worked with on Psychiatry (back in September '07) for a letter of recommendation. On the last day of working with him back in Sept, he offered to write me a letter, and I called him at the end of the rotation (about a month later) to ask him for one. He said he'd be happy to do it and asked me to set up an appointment through his secretary so we could meet and I could provide him with any documents that would help him write the letter.

I've waited this long to meet with him b/c I wanted to have some idea of what specialty I want to pursue (I finally decided on Pediatrics) and to have an updated CV. I still want a letter from him b/c he saw me interact with some of his difficult patients, and I had some really good experiences. For example, one of his patients usually did not want any medical students to sit in on the interview, but he actually liked me and asked the attending to invite me back for the interview.

Thus, it's been four months since I've last worked with this attending, and I've heard that if you are going to ask for a letter, do it right after the rotation so he can remember your work. I'm sure he remembers me, but I'm not sure if he recalls certain instances that helped me stand out as a medical student. My question to you all is when I meet with him in four days, is it okay to ask him to mention specific experiences in the letter in order to help him refresh his memory? Or would it actually be insulting since I don't want to appear that I am telling him how to write the letter? I've heard that the best letters are those that mention specific instances and not just those covered with great adjectives.