Really not sure what to do at this point....

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sparkles

To and Fro
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all. I'm in need of advice! Here's the situation: I just took the MCAT, everything is on track, I should be ready to apply to med schools this summer. I am a TX resident, but go to school over 1000 miles away in another state. I have a boyfriend here we have been dating for over a year. Should I apply to my state schools (in TX) and risk losing the relationship, apply out of state and pay an arm and a leg to go out of state, or take a year off and gain residency in a new state (where my bf is) before applying? My mom really wants me to apply to TX schools, but I am kind of leaning towards staying up north. I am trying to weigh out the good and the bad, but I'm really not sure what I should do. Please help!:confused:

Members don't see this ad.

Why don't you just apply to all the schools you mentioned, and wait and see what your options are before deciding? It's a bit early to rule anything out. And I wouldn't give up your Texas residency if I were you. See what schools you have a shot of getting into "up north" as a Texas resident.

First off, apply to schools in both places. You never know where you'll get in. Second, are you the only one in the relationship willing to relocate? Is your boyfriend unwilling to move to Texas? If so, then in order to maintain the relationship, you already know your answer. If he's willing to relocate, and you do get into a Texas school, then by all means, choose the lower tuition!

Members don't see this ad :)