Reapplicant: Should I give up on neurosurgery?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Levrone

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi. I'm a US MD grad who soaped into a prelim year after not matching neurosurgery. I had 4 interviews and applied broadly.

Stats: Step 1: 250 Step2: 245 Clinical Grades: Mix of pass and high pass (I was told this was going to be the reason I had trouble matching). I think I can also definitely improve my personal statement, but I'm not sure that will help much anyway.

My research also would be considered below average for neurosurgery. I only have a few published papers and research experiences, nothing major. My school didn't have a home nsg program and I had a lot of trouble finding a mentor. Either way, here I am now, planning to apply to neurology with nsg as a backup. I know I want to do neurosurgery, I just don't know what I can do to make it happen. I was thinking possibly a research year next year after finding some faculty to accept me, but I'm just not sure right now. Spending an additional year and still not matching would really be disheartening. But I also don't want to go into another field and not be happy.

I have heard a few success stories of people applying 3+ times before ultimately matching neurosurgery, and honestly that's given me hope. I'm just not sure what to do, as applications to reapply are going to be due soon.

Any guidance would be great. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi. I'm a US MD grad who soaped into a prelim year after not matching neurosurgery. I had 4 interviews and applied broadly.

Stats: Step 1: 250 Step2: 245 Clinical Grades: Mix of pass and high pass (I was told this was going to be the reason I had trouble matching). I think I can also definitely improve my personal statement, but I'm not sure that will help much anyway.