Recent interest in PM&R, beginning my rotations, what can I do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PieceOfGum1

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I came into med school completely unsure what to do. My extracurriculars are abysmal and I've never done anything for any field. After taking neurology, however, I fell in love with the brain and I really love the neuro side of things. Right now, I'm thinking of doing either Neuro or PM&R.

What are some things I can do to help get my foot in the door for PM&R? As a third year, it's too late for me to show interest via things like leadership in the club, that's reserved for M1's and M2's. I can't even do a PM&R Career Exploratory rotation, since I had to spend my career exploratory time getting extra study time for Step 1. So as of now, I have no formal experience with PM&R at ALL besides going to specialty talks.

I don't really know what to do, I'm already at a huge disadvantage because I failed 2 preclinical classes and had to remediate them. So those are some big fat red flags against me. I'll obviously try my best during my rotations and Step 2, but is there anything else I can do to look appealing for PM&R?

Members don't see this ad.