Rejected from Dental School - Now What?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ASongOfIceAndDentistry

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi friends. I applied for fall 2017 admission to dental school but was denied entry. I applied to all three schools in Texas (I am a Texas resident) as well as Oklahoma. I got interviews at Dallas and Oklahoma. I was wait listed by Oklahoma before being denied, and I heard nothing from Dallas until I was denied on July 10th.
I'm not quite sure what all I need to do to improve my application. I have a 3.587 overall GPA with 3.467 math and science. I was a chemistry major with biology minor. My DAT scores are Academic Avg 22/Total Science 20/Organic Chem 19/Gen Chem 22/Biology 19/Reading 25/Math 24/Perceptual 19.
I decided to take 2 years off so that my application can be as strong as possible, but other than that I'm not sure what would be most beneficial. If anyone has any advice, I would really appreciate it!

Members don't see this ad.

Mm might want to ask the schools you got interviews at? If you got the interview seems like your application was ok but maybe you fell short at the interview stage? The DAT and GPA looks good but what about extracurricular/shadowing?

Reactions: 1 user
I think the average GPA for the Texan schools is 3.7. It's very competitive. If you want to go to dental school without boosting up your stats (which is a waste), apply to more schools.

Members don't see this ad :)
Your stats are decent. Apply to some less competitive schools

Apply broadly! Your stats are competitive but even people with the most competitive stats usually apply to more than 4 schools. I feel like you'll definitely get in if you just apply to more schools.

Apply (far) more broadly and get some interview feedback because chances are that's where the issues were rather than your stats. Why are you taking 2 years off before applying again?