Requesting MCAT Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Serac

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
Found this forum about a year ago, I've read lots but just getting around to my first question.

Brief bit about myself: I am a male non-traditional student (senior) at a middle-of-the-road state school. I have a couple years of research, I couldn't start sooner as I had to do 2 years at community college (parents forbid high school for religious reasons, so no university would take me). My GPA is in the high 3.8 area, with an upward trend. I have around 1000 hours in a hospital thanks to work.

I have had to work for my entire UG career, and my boss finally let me take a month off to finish my classes and study for the MCAT. I started in early December and I am sitting for the MCAT on the 15th of this month. I have taken AAMC full-length's 3,4,5,8, and 11. My average is 35.6, the high was a 39, my low was a 32 (granted, I did have a brief emergency during the test and lost about 8 minutes in two sections), all others 35 or higher.
At this point, I worry about walking out with a score in the low thirties and feel like I need some more time to cover the material. I did not have physiology in anyway and have found this has taken a lot of my study time (I am taking it this spring though). I am not set on MSTP, but would like something fully-funded and I am unsure of what a realistic MCAT is for this.

Ultimately, my question is this: What average score on AAMCFL's 7,9,10 do I need to get for it to be safer for me score the test on the 15th vs the take the new one in April? I genuinely think I can hit a better score but I'm unsure of how the new exam will work out both on my end and on the admissions end.

Thanks for your time and thoughts,
-Serac

Members don't see this ad.