Requirements to become Belgian Dr. from non EU

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ABCmedgirl

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to this but i'm in desperate need for some accurate information. I'm a non-traditional med. student. I'm an American citizen who will be graduating from med. school in China. I'll be graduating with an MBBS (equivalent to an MD). I am looking for information about how i would go about becoming a doctor in Belgium and furthering my education in Belgium (specializing). (1) I know for the U.S. I would have to take a series of exams (the USMLE's), is there an equivalent to that for Belgium? (2) If I want to also specialize, if there is a medical licensing exam, do i need to complete it before I can take courses to specialize or can i begin courses before? (3) Does anyone have any advice/ tips/ suggestions of which universities may offer international programs for specializing? I am currently trying to contact an advisor from the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven as i heard they have good programs. (4) Also, is there a special list that the medical school needs to be recognized by (as is for the U.S.)? (5) My boyfriend is Belgian and he said you don't have to know French or Flemish to work as a doctor in Belgium, but i've read that you do; i want to know if that is true?
Thanks! Any info relative to this would be much appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.