Research on a CV

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

miamimama

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

Pre-med here wondering how to effectively portray research on application/CV.

First: how do you represent an abstract that you wrote/worked on that was presented at a conference, even if you were not the presenter, vice versa, how do you portray when you were the presenter?
Second: Is there specific format that should be used for publications (aka mla?)
Third: What about research projects that you are currently working on, also how do you portray abstracts/manuscripts that were written but have not been accepted anywhere yet?

Finally, a bit awkward but wondering if this happens to other people. I work in a lab and on several studies have come up with my own research question, collected the data, analyzed it, and written manuscripts (so start to finish was my work) but then when I give it to my PI, she puts grad students on the publication and I end up 3rd author on my own work. How do I portray to admissions how much of it was really my work without sounding like I am playing tattle-tale on my PI/complaining?

Members don't see this ad.

When I wrote my descriptions for the AMCAS ECs, I noticed that my abstract was a bit too long for the character limit. I decided to take certain components from the abstract and modify the rest to just say what I did, what we found, and what this experience taught me about research/working in a team environment/my commitment to medicine/etc.

Just tell them what you did and be as honest as you can. Try not to worry too much about abstract semantics; if you have publications, state that they are available upon request or provide a short sentence explaining where to find them. For instance, I have a published bacteriophage genome and I gave them the PubMed index number.