Residencies and Osteopathic Schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Darkskies

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I know this question has probably been asked multiple times but it doesn't seem to have been recently and definitely not regarding my own situation. I hope I am posting this on the correct forum and I apologize if the thread needs to be moved. Actually I would rather have posted this on the General Residency board but they usually move/close threads started by pre-med students there.

So I am a pre-med who graduated from college in May 2010 with a 3.42 GPA. I studied well for the MCAT and while scoring in the mid-30s on my practice AAMC exams, I ended up with a 32R(PS:9, VR:11, BS:12) on the real exam. I feel that I have little options for retaking the exam since my access to the online tests will expire very soon and I had already taken nearly all of the practice AAMC exams. I plan on applying at the earliest possible for the upcoming cycle(planning on June 1st). With that in mind I realize that I don't have very high chances of being accepted to an allopathic school and will most likely end up at an osteopathic one since my GPA is not up to par and I did not score a 35 on the MCAT like in most of my practice exams. How much will this affect me when vying for residency in a specialty? Some have told me to wait another year before applying but frankly I do not want to wait yet another unpredictable/unproductive year and it will take forever to raise my GPA at this point. I'm not sure what field I would be interested in but I don't think it would be anything in ROAD and was leaning towards psychiatry as you may already know. I know that the field is relatively uncompetitive and there isn't much of a DO bias but what if I wanted to go to top programs(or for that matter other specialties even)? Would I be hindered? Thanks for your comments in advance!

Members don't see this ad.