Residencies that DO's should not apply to

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DO_or_Die

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I feel like I'm a rather competitive DO student. 250+ step 2, 685+ Comlex 2, hundreds of hours of consistent volunteer, research etc. I'm applying peds or psych. When I'm looking on residency explorer I see many top tier programs that have matched 0% DO's. I'm not sure if that means they don't interview DO's at all or what.

I hate the thought of wasting money on a program that will only trash my application because of my credentials. Anyone know of any programs specifically that it would be a complete waste to apply to? Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
Yeah, there will be programs that will screen you out by pressing a button that basically says "only see US MD grads." The problem is many places won't say this directly. Many places will lie and say they'll consider. The worst is you can't rely on ranks alone. Some places simply don't get DO grads applying. If I were you, I'd apply 90% to programs that have at least 1 DO in their roster and 10% to reaches

Reactions: 2 users
Yeah, there will be programs that will screen you out by pressing a button that basically says "only see US MD grads." The problem is many places won't say this directly. Many places will lie and say they'll consider. The worst is you can't rely on ranks alone. Some places simply don't get DO grads applying. If I were you, I'd apply 90% to programs that have at least 1 DO in their roster and 10% to reaches