Roadblock help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gulliver Dark

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been a lurker for a long time, but I have hit a roadblock and need some advice or assistance. I have done searches, and have lurked long enough to know that this is at least a slightly unique problem, even if it is a variation of a common theme. I realize someone recently suggested banning the word unique. Sue me.

Background: I am changing details slightly because I want to remain anonymous. I considered posting this in pre-DO because Goro frequents there and might have insight, but maybe he'll see this.

I am a military vet with deployments (part of the reason I want to be a doctor) and I now work in law enforcement. I spent my younger years a bit adrift, with some bad grades, including an F in a non BCPM but still science class and a C- in a BCPM class. I like to think military and law enforcement made me grow up, but I think I just needed a direction of studies, which I know have. I have retaken the BCPM class with an A, and there is a definite upward trend. All of the prereqs I've taken so far, 12 credits, I have gotten A's. Overall I'm sitting at like 150-160 credits and what I think is probably a 3.2-3.3 (this could be higher, I've gotten mostly A's since my freshman year but my freshman year was like a 2.5.. I'm in the process of gathering transcripts) cGPA. One problem is, though, that I have no degree, but I have around 150 credits. Some of this is due to courses the military sent me to that resulted in attained credits through no desire of my own, but at least they were all A's. The issue is, any new A's don't really bump my cGPA too much. At least my sGPA is pretty good with all A's recently, and if I count the DO formula I can retake that other class, hopefully get an A, and I'll be at 4.0 for sGPA (obviously I haven't hit ochem yet...)