Scheduling interviews

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

freakedout06

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have two interview invites right now, and was wondering what the best strategy was in this whole process of scheduling. Is it better to just pick a date immediately after to get an invite or to wait to see what other invites come along? I've applied all over the country and ideally would like to schedule interviews in the same geographic area around the same time and its still early in the season, with some programs not even downloading docs off ERAS yet.

Members don't see this ad.

I am by no means an expert, but here's my $0.02:

What is the time range this particular program has to interview? (If you don't know, call and ask)

What is your time frame for interviewing? (when did you schedule your easiest rotations or take time off for interviewing?)

Where is the program geographically?

Where is the program as far as your tentative match list?

The first interviews are of course easiest to schedule. Mine were with programs at my own university, so I scheduled them middle of their season and last in my time frame for interviewing. Hopefully I'd then be able to cluster the 4 other states I applied to regionally...if they ever send me an invite!

Anyway, best of luck, and congrats on getting the invites!

Easy. Schedule IMMEDIATELY. Deal with the details later.

Many places are sending out 2X the interview offers than they have interviews available. First come, first serve. In other words, the program may only be interview 20 people on Nov 15 and Dec 6, but they are sending out 80 interview offers. The first 40 to respond get the spots. The next 40 are probably relegated to the wait-list.

You can always cancel interviews in the future (in a professional and timely manner), or trade interview dates with others.