Scheduling Pre-med Classes

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tokeneconomy

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,
I'm a rising sophomore who entered college as a business major but recently decided to pursue medicine. I'll probably still keep my business major and add a medicine-related one or minor in something medicine-related, but because I didn't enter as a premed, I missed some time to take the pre-req classes. I took gen chem 2 (placed out of gen chem 1 w/ AP credit and didn't know I'd still have to take gen chem 1 when I was registering) last semester, so I have the following required classes left to take:

Bio 1 (ecology - only offered Fall, notoriously easy) & 2 (cell/molecular - only offered Spring, notoriously difficult)
Orgo 1&2
Gen chem 1
Biochem
Physics 1&2
Math
? I already took a stats class for my business major and got a 5 on my calc BC exam in high school, but I'm under the impression some schools are lenient on placing out of the math requirement but none are lenient on the chem one.
Psych? New MCAT has it, I have a 5 on that AP exam as well, but not sure if I should still be taking it. I remember most of the stuff from when I took it in high schools, and I'm sure I'd review it when studying for the MCAT anyway.
Sociology - I've taken.
English? I've already taken one writing class and need to take another junior year per university policy - not sure if I need more than that.​
Aside: if relevant, all the classes at my school are 4 credits.

I'm wondering if any of you have advice on how to space these classes out in a shorter time. I came up with the following, assuming I would not need to take math, psych, or english (except the second writing class I need to take anyway). I wouldn't really mind taking math (I'd do calc 3) or psych, because psyc 100 is notoriously easy and I can hold my own in math:

Fall, Sophomore:
Orgo 1
Physics 1
Biochem

Spring, Sophomore:
Bio 2