MD School list help please. URM 3.7cGPA 3.7sGPA MCAT 33

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drchris4791

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Everybody. I was hoping that I could get some feedback on my tentative school list.

I graduated from Fordham University last year and have been using my year off so far to study for the MCAT, teach, volunteer, and research. I am an NY resident and would like to stay in New York for medical school but its also been my dream to study and practice in California. I have heard that its pointless for me to apply in Cali however, so I may remove all of the California schools. I am also a Puerto Rican URM. I would appreciate any school suggestions or advice on applying in the northeast and in California (MD).

STATS/WORK/EC/VOLUNTEER
Biology Major/ Philosophy Minor
3 years as an active EMT (volunteer)
Shadowed a Peds ER physician (~100 hours)
Summer Undergraduate Mentorship Program at Einstein (Summer 2010)
Summer Undergraduate Research Program (SURP) at Einstein (Summer 2011)
1 and a half year long independent research experience at Fordham University
Summer Research experience abroad in Madrid, Spain at the Cajal Institute under a famous neuro P.I.
Currently at a Global health and Clinical Research Project abroad in Dublin, Ireland at St. James Hospital
Several conferences attended and posters presented
1 Semester teaching College Biology as apart of the STEP program (works with underserved students) paid
College Strive Mentor(weekly 2014) (guiding Bronx students through the process of applying to 4-year colleges) (volunteer)
Fordham Orientation Group Leader. 2 years mentoring and conducting small groups for freshman students (volunteer)
Head Organic Chemistry Tutor. 2 years running orgo tutor organization on campus. tutored classroom sizes of about 100 students as well as tutoring students one on one. (Volunteer/ then paid)

SCHOOL LIST

nyu
einstein
mount sinai