PhD/PsyD School Psych Applicant- Which job helps my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rachel54

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm hoping someone out there might be able to give some advice. I'll be applying to some apa accredited school psych phd programs come December. I'm very interested in working in a school setting, of course, but am also thinking I might wander into a juvenile detention setting further down the line.

Here's the situation. I graduated with a BS in psychology and my GPA was about a 3.1, so nothing great. I had a few years of experience working in group homes with adults with developmental disabilities. I knew I wasn't done with my education, but wasn't quite sure what I wanted to do yet. I ended up receiving my masters in health administration from Weber State out in Utah about six months ago with a 3.9 gpa (it's CAHME accrediated, which is sort of like the APA of MHAs). In the time that I was working towards that, I had a short stint with the state of Michigan where I worked for Children's Protective Services. That was a hard, but great job. I left because there was an administrative opening out by my fiancé that was more in the field of my graduate degree. I am now, and have been for about the last year, the program supervisor for the community mental health agency in my county. I supervisor a group home, the outpatient segment of the agency as well as our work and day program for adults with developmental disabilities.