Seeking advice for an underdog's 2nd application

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

yellowpepper

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
s

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
The combo of MCAT and GPA?
This. A few more MCAT points would help.
I'm studying to retake the mcat
Can we agree that this won't be for a 2014-2015 MD app? Please? I beg you.

In other words, yes, retake, but it won't help you this year. Take it by April.
but should I also be considering an SMP/something to improve my science gpa?
Tough call, since you got interviews. There are boatloads of people in SMPs with your stats.

Watch out for student debt. If you borrowed for one masters already, that's a lot.

Note that SMP apps open starting in October and close starting in February. Be ready.
My undergrad advisor is not helpful and consistently says my application is wonderful, but the mcat is lacking. Is the mcat really the only problem?
Usually premed advisers are completely out of their depth once things don't go perfectly. You'll get better advice from SDN. Just don't take any one opinion too seriously.

My vote: get a job for this year, focus on the MCAT retake, maybe take a couple classes, and keep up clinical volunteering. Apply to SMPs starting in the fall so you have that option. Be ready with a freshened app in June '15.

Unfortunately grad work in the humanities doesn't do anything to help your lower stats, so I advise against reapplying for this cycle. You don't have a different app yet.

Best of luck to you.

Reactions: 2 users
This. A few more MCAT points would help.

Can we agree that this won't be for a 2014-2015 MD app? Please? I beg you..

Thank you for your thorough response! I really appreciate it and will take all of it into consideration.

Members don't see this ad :)